Home > Tech

Fishing scam: bogus Network Solutions email

Friday, October 31st, 2008 | Tech |

I got an email yesterday that was fishing for my Network Solutions login that I use to administer my domain names. I knew it was bogus because they sent it to a different address than the one I gave to Network Solutions.

In the email below the www.networksolutions.com text was hyperlinked to http://www.networksolutions.com.com42.asia/.


Dear Network Solutions Customer,

We recently notified you that the registration period for your Network Solutions domain name had expired. As a benefit of having previously registered a domain name(s) with Network Solutions, you are eligible to receive a percentage of the net proceeds that were generated from the renewal and transfer of the domain name you chose not to renew. Since you have chosen not to renew the domain name listed below during the applicable grace period, we were successful in securing a backorder for this domain name on your behalf and it has been transferred to another party in accordance with the Service Agreement.

Renew your domain now - http://www.networksolutions.com

You must click on the following link, enter your domain name, and confirm your contact information in order to claim these funds. If your contact information is not correct, you must enter Account Manager and make the appropriate changes prior to clicking “submit” from the confirmation screen. If you do not do this, you will be confirming inaccurate information and will not receive any payment. Checks will only be made payable and mailed to the Account Holder of record.

Sincerely,
Network Solutions® Customer Support

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Search

A Word from Our Sponsors

Archives

Subscription Options


RSS Posts Feed
RSS Comment Feed

Subscribe in Bloglines
Powered by FeedBurner
Add to Google Reader or Homepage
Add to My AOL
Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Subscribe in Rojo


Email delivery of new posts:

Delivered by FeedBurner